22nd February 2013- to scary things

“You can kiss your family and friends good-bye and put miles between you, but at the same time you carry them with you in your heart, your mind, your stomach, because you do not just live in a world but a world lives in you.”

Frederick Buechner

In September this year, I head off to France for 9 months to study at the Université Catholique de L’Ouest in Angers. It is going to be an amazing opportunity for me; I should come back fluent in French and equipped with many life skills. But. I’m going to admit here that I am absolutely terrified. I have always been a girl who loves home, comfort and especially the people who make my surroundings the home I consider it to be. Moving away from everybody is going to be a massive step for me but I take comfort in knowing that France is a hop, skip and a jump over the channel and also in that I have obliged all of my loved ones to visit me haha! I think I take a bit of solace in this quote too; knowing that I can take these things and people along with me, no matter how far, because distance does not affect bonds and relationships. (*cringes a little at soppiness*)

Leave a Reply

