11th January 2013

“Won’t you help me sing another song of freedom? Cause all I ever have, redemption songs.”

Bob Marley, Redemption Song

I’ve always been familiar with this song, but one day on holiday, a lady came to the hotel to sing and she sang this song and to see it in that emotional context and history of slavery, torment and freedom made it so much more significant for me. Actually visiting a place like Tobago, which has such a strong, yet bitter, British history made me think of a part of history that I’d never really considered properly before, and it was something by which I felt very moved.

 “Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, none but our self can free our minds.”

Leave a Reply

