30th Octber 2012 – Mum’s birthday and some memories

“Anyway,
once we had this chocolate cake for tea
and later I went to bed
but while I was in bed
I found myself waking up
licking my lips
and smiling.
I woke up proper.
‘The chocolate cake.’
It was the first thing
I thought of.”

Michael Rosen

This is a strange thing to quote for a birthday, but I remember my mother’s birthday 14 years ago – mainly because she spent it in hospital having given birth to my sister the day before. We took her a yummy chocolate cake and celebrated with her there. This poem is one we have read and enjoyed a few times too; thinking about it always puts a smile on my face. So gutted I’m not there to celebrate with Mum and my sister, but I’ll see them in a few days!

Leave a Reply

