19th August 2012

“If you speak to a man in a language he understands it goes to his head; if you talk to him in his language, it goes to his heart.”

Nelson Mandela

I actually quoted this in my personal statement for my university application, which I came across today, and it reminded me why I’m doing what I’m doing. Languages are very powerful, allowing communication, expression, emotion, care and structure – from running a government to international relations, to relationships. I love that by learning new words, grammar, idioms and expressions, I can convey so much to so many people. Just the other day, I spent 20 minutes speaking German on the phone and managed to book some train tickets, as well as have a laugh and a joke with the German man on the other end!

Leave a Reply

