17th July 2012

“Be calm like a duck. Calm on the surface, but always paddling like the dickens underneath.”

Michael Caine

I think I’m getting quite good at having my ‘calm and collected’ face at the ready, especially in times that are not at all as such. I haven’t worked out whether it is a good or a bad thing yet – people can’t tell if something is upsetting me or stressing me out but at the same time I can appear very together. It reminds me of a Desperate Housewives episode I recently saw, where Bree’s mother taught Bree to always have her ‘face’ on – as it would give her control in situations. Perhaps it makes people’s reactions less genuine though?

One thought on “17th July 2012

  1. In my native tongue Bengali, we have a quote which means “Language was created to mask our state of mind”. 🙂 though both are used halfway round the world, the sense is same.

Leave a Reply

