12th May 2012

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you do, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Maya Angelou

This is one of my favourite quotes ever; it just rings true for so much stuff. If I think back to an argument I had with my sisters when I was younger, I couldn’t remember for the life of me what was said, but I remember how I felt at the time (obviously, arguments with siblings never last long.)  If I think back to a day where I felt a bit down and insecure, I remember who made me feel that way. If I think back to a day that made me feel happy, I remember the fact that I was happy because of who I was with. And naturally, people associate certain feelings and emotions with certain people – regardless of what they have said or done. For many, a mother signifies comfort; a sibling means ease; an ex can mean sadness or disdain; a grandparent signifies learning through wisdom; a partner can mean joy and a friend can be relief, or reassurance . When someone makes you feel the worst or the best you have ever felt, I don’t think that is something that is ever forgotten.


Leave a Reply

