23rd April 2012

“If you want to view paradise, simply look around and view it. Anything you want to, do it, want to change the world? There’s nothing to it.

There is no life I know, to compare with pure imagination. Living there, you’ll be free if you truly wish to be.”

Willy Wonka, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

I was channel flicking last night and ended up watching the bit where Willy Wonka is singing this song. I just remembered how much I loved this bit of the film as a child: the wonder and the magic really drew me in. And when listening to the lyrics of the song, I just love how it is purely escapist and so optimistic – the complete antithesis to reality.

Leave a Reply

