27th March 2012

“You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness, like resignation to the end, always the end. So when we found that we could not make sense, well you said that we would still be friends, but I’ll admit that I was glad it was over.
But you didn’t have to cut me off, make out like it never happened and that we were nothing. And I don’t even need your love, but you treat me like a stranger, and that feels so rough..”

Gotye ft Kimbra,  Somebody that I used to Know

Admittedly, the first time I listened to this song was when my sister started playing the chords on her guitar and I asked “what’s this?” I’m becoming a teeny bit obsessed with the song. I’m no musical expert, but for me, it’s the understated musical accompaniment; the bare, simple, brazen lyrics and the cold, raw vocals. The words could have been written down in a book or diary, but the arrangement make them work so effectively as a song- and I think that’s why so many people feel like they can relate to the story.

The video below is an amazing cover that my sister showed me by Walk Off the Earth; I love it.

Leave a Reply

