19th March 2012

“Hope for the best, expect the worst”.

Angela Carter (Grandma Chance), Wise Children

When I first read Wise Children at AS level English, I found it difficult to grasp and make sense of but once it was re-read and analysed I came to really enjoy the complexities, the narrative and the generally jovial sentiments behind the story told. Grandma Chance was my favourite character – a jolly midway between an optimistic pessimist as is demonstrated by this quote: one that I find to be a good motto to stick to in everyday life too.

Leave a Reply

