11th March 2012

“So I’m just sitting on the dock of the bay, watching the tide roll away. I’m just sitting on the dock of the bay, wasting time.”

Otis Redding, Sitting at the Dock of the Bay

Today was spent enjoying the spring sunshine at Southampton docks with some friends. Although Otis’ sentiments behind this song are rather morbid: “Cause I had nothing to live for and looks like nothing’s gonna come my way”, it is one of my favourite songs – it reminds me of peaceful times, of singing it (pretty badly) with my sisters and it being played in the car at 8am on the way to my aunt’s wedding on a snowy December morning. It summed today up nicely too- whiling away the time by the water.

Leave a Reply

